Clean sweep for Team Sanjeev Pargal in Press Club Jammu elections, secures all 11 posts



Jammu, April 9 - In a one-sided contest, the Team Sanjeev Pargal secured a landslide victory in the elections held for the formation of new body of the Press Club of Jammu. The Team Sanjeev Pargal was backed and supported by two former presidents of the Club-Manu Shrivatsa and Ashwani Kumar.

All the four posts of the Office Bearers and seven slots of the Executive Committee were bagged by the team led by Sanjeev Pargal, Bureau Chief of Daily Excelsior. Pargal, who was contesting for the post of president, declared elected polling highest number of 405 votes while his nearest rival Surinder Sharma managed to secure only 91votes.

Zorawar Singh Jamwal was elected as Vice President of the club by securing 404 votes while his opponent Ravinder Singh got only 87 votes.

Dinesh Manhotra secured 396 votes to be elected as Secretary General while Sumit Sharma, contesting for the same post could secure just 94 votes.

Channi Anand bagged 392 votes and was elected as new Treasurer of the Press Club of Jammu while his opponent Sudhir Kumar bagged 96 votes.

Seven members, who were elected for the Executive Committee of the Club include:

Nishikant Khajuria of Daily Excelsior (393 votes),

Dinesh Mahajan of Dainik Jagran (386),

Ajay Meenia of Amar Ujala (355),

Govind Chouhan (333),

Deepak Khajuria (332),

Vishal Bharti of UNI (323) and

Kunal Shrivatsa of Early Times (309).

Other candidates in the fray for the Executive Committee, who lost the election, were Rajinder Kumar (148 votes), Rahul Sharma (141), Mir Imran (130), Sham Sunder (128), Vishal Sharma (119), Varun Magotra (110), Rohit Gupta (94) and Rajiv Mahajan (80).

Soon after the election, newly elected president Sanjeev Pargal extended thanks to the president J&K High Court Bar Association Jammu, Mohinder Bhardwaj, who acted as Returning Officer, and all Assistant Returning Officers including Pawan Maini, Ravinder Sharma, Chander Mohan Sharma and Sanjeet Khajuria, senior journalist, for conducting, free, fair, smooth and transparent elections for the Press Club of Jammu in nearly a month-long exercise.

The highlight of the elections was the participation of Union Minister of State in the Prime Minister's Office (PMO) Dr Jitendra Singh, as a voter. Singh, who is the founder member of the Press Club of Jammu, specially arrived from New Delhi to cast his ballot.

A total of 504 out of 592 eligible voters exercised their right to  franchise.


You can call

Office Secretary : 0191-2560783
Reception : 0191-2576077
Accounts : 0191-2540397


You can email us on

Copyright © Press Club of Jammu.
All Rights Reserved.