Sixth Ashok Sodhi Memorial Photography Awards

Jammu, September 21: Press Club of Jammu on Wednesday announced Sixth Ashok Sodhi Memorial Awards for Best Photography 2022 by the three member jury here at a function.


The first prize was grabbed by Nitin Kanotra, Staff Photographer, NHI, Jammu. He was awarded a cash prize of Rs 11,000 and a certificate.

The second prize winner was Ishika Jandiyal, Student of Woman College, Gandhi Nagar, Jammu and the third prize was won by Ankush Sharma, Cameraman, ANI News, Jammu.

They were awarded a cash prize of Rs 8000 and Rs 5000 respectively with a certificate.

Meanwhile the consolation prizes were won by Ankur Sethi, Senior Photographer, Himalayan Mail, Jammu, Arushi Attri, Student, Government Women College, Gandhi Nagar, Jammu, Randhir Singh, Videojournalist, ANI Jammu, Amit Sharma, Senior Video Journalist, Times Now, Jammu, Surjeet Singh, Senior Photojournalist, Ajit Samachar, Jammu, Pardeep Bakshi, Photojournalist, Dainik Jagran, Jammu, Shilpa Thakur, Photojournalist, State Times, Jammu, Versha Devi, Student, Government Woman College, Parade Ground, Jammu, Diksha Sharma, Student, Government Woman College, Parade Ground Jammu, Sandhia Bhardwaj, Student, Government Woman College, Parade Ground, Jammu.

Rs 2000 was awarded to the consolation prize winners with a certificate.

As the event could not be organised due to Covid pandemic in 2020 and 2021 while this year as many as 50 entries were received for the competition with participation of photojournalists increased manifold.

The competition was judged by the three-member jury comprising Sanjit Khajuria, Veteran Journalist, Sunny Dua, Senior Journalist and Khushwinder Singh, Senior Journalist, Jammu.

The awards for the first three positions were presented by president of Press Club of Jammu, Sanjeev Pargal, Editor-in-Chief, State Times, Raj Daluja, Senior Journalists Arun Joshi and Ashwani Kumar (Former PCJ President).

Meanwhile the consolation prizes were presented by Senior Journalist Pradeep Dutta, Adarshpal Gupta and Vivek Sharma.

Former President PCJ, Manu Shrivatsa was also present on the occasion.

Earlier welcome address was presented by Secretary General, PCJ, Dinesh Manhotra and Vote of Thanks by Executive Committee Member Dinesh Mahajan while Executive Committee Member, Vishal Bharti compered the programme.

Vice President, Zorawar Singh Jamwal, Secretary Finance, Channi Anand, Executive Committee Members, Nishikant Khajuria, Kunal Shrivatsa, Deepak Khajuria, Govind Chauhan, Ajay Meenia and senior journalist Sominder Koul were also present on the occasion.

Senior photojournalist Ashok Sodhi had attained martyrdom while performing his professional duties during a fierce encounter between militants and security forces at Samba on May 11, 2008.


You can call

Office Secretary : 0191-2560783
Reception : 0191-2576077
Accounts : 0191-2540397


You can email us on

Copyright © Press Club of Jammu.
All Rights Reserved.