PCJ’s 2-Day Chess/ Carrom Tourney Concludes

Anup defeats Samar 2-1 in Carrom, Mukesh, Zorawar top in Chess

Jammu, December 17: Anup Kumar on Sunday defeated Samar Kerni in a close contest on the concluding day of the two-day Chess and Carrom Board Tournament played at Banquet Hall, Press Club of Jammu here. The tournament was organised by the Press Club of Jammu with an aim to introduce co-curricular activities and sports among mediapersons.

In a close contest Anup outclassed Samar 3-1. The first set was won Samar Kerni but Anup hit back in the second round and equalised the level. Anup in the last round displayed an outstanding show and clinched the title. Meanwhile in Chess, Mukesh Gupta topped with highest 3 points followed by Zorawar Singh Jamwal also with 3 points and Sunny Dua remained at the third place with 2 points.

The matches were officiated by Atul Gupta, President, All J&K Chess Association and Bindu Pathania, FIDE Arbiter. Secretary General Press Club of Jammu, Zorawar Singh Jamwal was the chief guest on the occasion and he distributed trophies among the winners and runners up of Chess and Carrom Board events. Speaking on the occasion, Vishal Bharti, Member Executive Committee and Chairman, Sports Committee, Press Club of Jammu said that the management decided to hold two-day tournament for the media persons and its members with a vision to inculcate sports culture.

“The media fraternity could not spare time out of their busy schedule for such activities following which the Management decided to organise it,” said Bharti. He asserted that sports, is one of the best mediums to get de-stress and it can help the fraternity to remain not only physically but also mentally fit. “In the coming days more activities will be organised not only indoor but also outdoor sports,” he said.

Later presenting vote of thanks, Zorawar Jamwal congratulated the participants and appreciated them for actively taking part in the events. He assured that the Press Club of Jammu will hold more competitions in different disciplines for the media fraternity and Club members in coming days.


You can call

Office Secretary : 0191-2560783
Reception : 0191-2576077
Accounts : 0191-2540397


You can email us on

© Press Club of Jammu 2015